Legislative Assembly elections are arranged to be held in Uttar Pradesh from 10 February to 7 March 2022 in seven phases to elect all 403 members of the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly.

The tenure of the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly ends on 14 May 2022. The previous assembly elections were conducted in February – March 2017. After winning the election, Bharatiya Janata Party formed the state government, with Yogi Adityanath becoming Chief Minister.

Uttar Pradesh is ready to witness the tough competition between the Congress, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), and the Samajwadi Party (SP) as voting for this year’s assembly elections are scheduled to start next week. As all national and regional parties have geared up to win the upcoming polls, here’s a look into who is pitted against whom in the state’s capital, Lucknow.

JP Nadda, BJP national president, had addressed a public rally in Sirathu on 4th February 2022, whereas Union Home Minister Amit Shah undertook a door-to-door campaign. In his rally, JP Nadda attacked the Samajwadi Party in his speech. He stated that “the leaders of the Samajwadi Party are contesting elections either from jail or on bail. Will you (public) bring such people to power in Uttar Pradesh?”.

Whereas, when Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath was campaigning ahead of the upcoming Assembly elections, he said that his government had taken the economy of Uttar Pradesh to the second spot in the country, which none of the previous governments of the Opposition parties had failed to do.

UP’s Economy

Yogi Adityanath is keenly focusing on the state’s economic condition to gain votes in his favor. From 1947 to 2017, UP’s economy was at the sixth or seventh spot in the country as no work was done in the 70 years. Since the BJP took over, they have successfully taken the state to the second sport, merely in five years. 

UP Elections: Parties and Alliances

In the month of September, the NDA established an alliance between BJP, AD(S), and the NISHAD Party. In August, the NDA held talks with parties like JD(U), Ham(S), and others; however, the seat-sharing discussion fell apart later. In October, there were significant restructuring efforts by the cooperation with new faces and revamp of parties in an attempt to battle anti-incumbency. 

During the initial 2 weeks of December, the alliance launched it to campaign for the election. On 13 January, the national democratic alliance sealed their seat-sharing pact with NISHAD Party getting 13-17 and Apna Dal getting 10-14, and BJP contesting in the remaining seats.

RLD was the first to join the cooperation. Later, Akhilesh Yadav issued a statement that they were only willing to join with regional parties and not national parties. The NCP along with RJD joined the alliance later. Other smaller parties too joined whereas SBSP broke away from its alliance to join the SP alliance. 

During the first seat-sharing talks, SP agreed to give RLD 36 seats. Initially, RLD demanded 60 seats while SP was willing to give up to 30. Later, both the parties finalized at 36, with RLD mostly competing in West UP. Aam Aadmi Party and Samajwadi Party had talked about the alliance; however, they couldn’t agree on seat sharing. Pragatisheel Samajwadi Party joined the alliance later. On 13 January 2022, the alliance announced its initial candidates for the first few phases of the election.

UP Elections: The Candidates

On Wednesday, the BJP announced that its leader Brajesh Pathak would compete from the Lucknow Cantt Assembly constituency. He is contesting against Raju Gandhi of the Samajwadi Party.

Earlier, there were speculations that Mulayam Singh’s daughter-in-law Aparna Yadav, who recently joined the BJP, might be given the ticket to compete from the Lucknow Cantt constituency. At the same time, the party has decided to send out Brajesh Pathak from the constituency for this year’s polls in Uttar Pradesh.

Ashutosh Tandon, the Minister of Urban Employment and Poverty Alleviation of Uttar Pradesh, is in the fray from the Lucknow East Assembly constituency. He has been sent out against SP’s Anurag Bhadauria.

BJP candidate Anjani Srivastava is contesting against SP’s Armaan Khan in the Lucknow West Assembly constituency.

BJP candidate Neeraj Bora will stand against SP candidate Pooja Shukla in the Lucknow North. Pooja Shukla is one of SP’s youth leaders. A few years ago, She was in the news for waving a black flag at Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath during anti-Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA) protests. She had also spent a few days in jail in connection with that incident.

From Sarojini Nagar constituency, the BJP has sent out Rajeshwar Singh, who has been a former joint director of the Enforcement Directorate (ED). The SP has not declared its candidate for this constituency yet.

UP Elections: Party Manifestos

Aam Aadmi Party

On 27 January 2022, AAP disclosed its party manifesto named “Kejriwal Guarantee Card.” The manifesto was disclosed by AAP’s Uttar Pradesh in-charge, Sanjay Singh, in a press conference. Major promises in the UP Manifesto were:

  • Free Bus Services For Women
  • 10 Lakh government jobs
  • Reinstatement of the old pension scheme
  • Recruitment of 97,000 teachers
  • Guaranteed 80 % reservation for local youths in state government jobs
  • Resolve the problems of over 45,000 constables of Prantiya Raksha Dal (PRD), a voluntary force.
  • 300 units of free electricity
  • Round-the-clock power supply
  • law to ensure minimum support fee (MSP) for farmers goods
  • Timely settlement for sugarcane farmers
  • Remuneration at a rate of ₹ 50,000 per hectare for loss of production due to drought or floods
  • Chambers for lawyers
  • Life insurance of up to 10 Lakh
  • Remuneration of ₹ 1 crore and a job to a member of the family of a soldier who died while on duty
  • Curriculum on the Constitution of India in schools
  • ₹ 10 lakh insurance for journalists

Latest News

The 2022 Assembly election of Uttar Pradesh will be conducted from February 10 in seven phases. The votes will be counted on March 10.

According to the latest news, Election Commission has permitted physical rallies to have a maximum capacity of 1000 people and indoor meetings to have a maximum capacity of 500 people. Twenty people were allowed for the door-to-door campaign.

We will be posting regular updates regarding the elections, so keep reading to stay up to date.

Also Read: Union Budget 2022

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.